Hit and run cases are equally common in any criminal and traffic practice. Virginia has created a difficult series of statutes governing the various reporting duties of drivers and passengers involved in accidents. If the driver who apparently caused the accident is found and confronted, he or she will face charges of leaving the scene of an accident and not reporting the accident, under code 46.2-894. Charges can also be filed against a passenger in the vehicle aged 16 or more who fails to report the accident to the police. If convicted, the driver or passenger will be guilty of a class 5 felony, which carries a punishment of no less than one year imprisonment or jail time.
Injury and Damage to Attended Property
According to hit and run laws in code 46.2-888, the driver of any vehicle who is involved in an accident in which a person is injured or killed or which an attended property of damages will immediately stop as close to the scene without blocking the traffic. The person will provide his name, address, license number, contact number and vehicle registration number to the police or to the person struck.
Damage to Unattended Property
According to hit and run laws in Henrico, the driver of any vehicle who is involved in an accident in which no person in killed or injured but there is a damage to the unattended property, he will make efforts to find the owner of this property and will report the owner information. If such owner or custodian is found. If the owner or custodian of such damaged vehicle or property cannot be found, the driver shall leave a note or other sufficient information including driver identification and contact information in a conspicuous place at the scene of the accident and shall report the accident in writing within 24 hours to the State Police or the local law-enforcement agency.”
Henrico Hit and Run Punishments
In Henrico, hit and runs involve complex laws. The amount of property destruction, whether the damaged goods were attended or not, and whether you were the driver or passenger all affect the consequence. Hit and run can be a felony or misdemeanor. It can involve a license suspension and a jail time. The duty report the incident is not limited to the driver, as Virginia Code §46.2-895 requires that where the driver fails to make a report, every occupant of the vehicle 16 years of age or older has a duty to report the accident to law enforcement within 24 hours. Failure to comply is a Class 6 felony if the accident resulted in death or injury. Otherwise this violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
All of these code sections and reporting requirements apply on both public and private property. These types of accidents often occur in private parking lots, but the same reporting requirements apply. Based upon the circumstances, hit and run in Hanover can carry the possibility of lengthy prison time.