When you commit a crime and are indicted in Virginia, your first concern is what charges you face. What is the misdemeanor charge and what are the rules for classifying crimes and charges in Virginia?
Serious crimes fall into the category of six-count crimes, so you can be punished depending on the count. By contrast, misdemeanor charges are less serious and carry you to the local jail for a maximum of one year and a $1,000 fine.
Administrative offenses are usually defined as minor offenses, and since offenses are less serious than offenses, they can carry a maximum penalty of one year in prison and a $1,000 fine. Offences and crimes can be less serious when compared with crimes that are charged, but not when compared with the two. If the offense is less serious, the charge carries a fine of up to $2,500 and / or a one-year prison sentence.
If you are charged with a crime, you have two options: plead guilty or not guilty, or fight the case. Another option is to accept the charge and seek a lesser charge, fine and a sentence ordered by the court.
The offences in this notice are divided into four different classes, and each of these four classes has different punishments and fines depending on the crime the person has committed. These offences relate to different offences but could result in the same penalties. Offences include bodily harm, assault occasioning death, burglary, robbery, theft, robbery and other offences. Each of the crimes falls into four distinct categories: crimes, misdemeanors, petty offenses and crimes, as well as a misdemeanor charge.
Offences will continue to be classified according to crime, with the exception of petty offences such as drug possession, possession of a firearm and possession or use of marijuana.
Carrying an unlicensed weapon without a permit can be a major problem, but a Class 1 misdemeanor directly affects that person. Number 1 is the most serious, and then with each indictment, punishment and fine it becomes less serious and less serious.
Reckless driving is one of the most common problems in Virginia and falls under the category of a misdemeanor. Domestic violence also falls under Category 1 and can be punished with the charges mentioned, but a Class 2 offense is punished with less severe penalties than the charge. A Class 2 misdemeanor is a misdemeanor punishable by up to five years in prison and a $1,000 fine.
While drug paraphernalia falls into the same category, the crime is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $1,000 fine. The crime can also be punished with a fine of $500 to $2500, or both.
Class 3 has no jail time, and individuals can only pay the fine and move on, according to the Virginia Department of Public Safety. Two misdemeanors fall into the category of Class 4 misdemeanors and can carry a maximum penalty of up to $250. Class 4 is one of the least hard and severe categories in Virginia, according to the Virginia Department of Public Safety.